Cowboys! W/ Tory Temple

Cowboys! With Tory Temple

 

Hey everybody! I’m Tory, and I’m so happy I get to talk to you about my favorite topic (AFTER firefighters)!

COWBOYS YAY.

My novel Down in the Dirt was released earlier this week and I couldn’t be happier! Dreamspinner has been so generous with allowing me to republish some of my old novels. This was formerly released with another publisher under the title Tabula Rasa. It’s got a brand-spanking-new title, cover, and edit.

I actually wanted to call this book Down in the Dirt from the beginning, but I was also going through this weird writing phase where my book titles had to be vague yet meaningful. Tabula Rasa literally means “blank slate”, and there’s a part in the story where…. ha. No spoilers! Anyway, I’m glad it got renamed.

I did have to do a fair bit of research on team ropers, but once I started, it didn’t feel like work to me at all. It was so interesting to learn the ins and outs of the rodeo circuit, especially because I make it a habit to go to the rodeo every time it’s local. One thing I was really pleased to find out was how humanely the animals are treated. They’re actually worth a lot of money to the owners, so the last thing the rancher wants is for a steer or horse to be injured. Serious precautions are taken to avoid injury!

Teagan and Cash are pretty much the epitome of the “enemies to lovers” trope, but I don’t mind that they fall into that category. A good personality clash really makes things interesting, at least from my perspective. And trust me when I say these two clash. Fortunately for them, they’re extremely compatible in the rodeo ring. (And maybe some other places, but they won’t admit it.)

This book was actually an EPPIE finalist back in the day, and I’m really proud of it. Thank you so much for letting me chat a little! I sincerely hope you love Teagan and Cash as much as I do.

Happy roping!

 

Tory would be happy to chat with readers in the following places:

Website: www.torytemple.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/torytemple
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ToryTemple

 

Check out Down in the Dirt today!

 

Down in the Dirt by Tory Temple

Blurb:

Rodeo cowboy Teagan has inherited his father’s ranch, and it’s in a bad way. To pay his bills, he’ll have to work the rodeo circuit hard, and for that he needs a partner. Team roper Cash is just the ticket. He’s not the friendliest sort, but he has a good seat and a better roping arm, so Teagan takes Cash on and things heat up fast. Maybe too fast.

When Teagan finds out he’s not the only one Cash has in the saddle, he thinks they’re over for good. But then Cash has an accident, and Teagan cares too much about Cash to abandon him. How will he deal with a new Cash, one with no memory of being a bit of an asshole—or of a relationship with Teagan? And how will Cash react when he realizes Teagan has been less than forthcoming about their past?

Like any good rodeo ride, Teagan and Cash have ups and downs, crashing and burning as often as they blaze bright. But to make their love work as smoothly as their roping, they’ll have to push past deception and stubborn pride.

Leave a comment